RSS

IT’S IMPORTANT EVEN IF IT’S INSIGNIFICANT

11 Jun

Why don’t Greg and I start looking for places to stay in France this fall?  We have been told that we should book at least several months ahead and yet we keep getting distracted.  First, Greg was working really hard transplanting some shrubs, mowing the grass, planting some new perennials since last year’s efforts didn’t survive.  And me, well all I’ve been doing these past 6 months is cough incessantly which has really worn me down since it has totally disrupted my sleep.  Greg finally convinced me that this was no ordinary cold and I went to the doctor.  She looked at me in disbelief when I told her how long I’ve had this cough.  Apparently, she too thought it wasn’t normal.  In fact, I have asthma.  Unfortunately, since I have waited so long, it is now taking quite a while to get it under control.

Because I was so exhausted from my fibromyalgia that worsens from lack of sleep and from the constant coughing, I decided to do something mindless during the day but that would make me feel like I was accomplishing something.  One of my goals is to reduce the paper in our house and I have begun scanning papers in our filing cabinet and in binders so that eventually I will need less filing cabinets and less shelves.

Rather than scanning or watching French movies, why didn’t I just prop my I-Pad on my lap and look for places to stay?  Well, part of the problem is that I prefer reading books about France and watching French movies  rather than doing the practical necessities of actually planning our trip!  It’s so much easier to find a quiet and comfortable spot in my house and with a cup of tea in my hand read a mystery like Murder In The Latin Quarter by Cara Black.

And I intend to continue this practice but hopefully I will also begin searching on the internet for some nice apartments to stay in while we are in France.  I also know that I must get back to blogging about what I read and watch in DVD’s.  I have a habit of starting projects but not completing them since I find another one that looks more interesting.

For example, my daughter mentioned that she would like to develop a list of activities to do with her little toddler every day.  Well, when I used to be a teacher,  I really enjoyed writing curriculum and  preparing lesson plans.  I quickly offered to help her with this.  I have just completed 4 weeks of activities that include activities in music, building blocks, crafts, playing with magnets and stickers and puzzles.  I have included physical activities, outdoor activities,  a new concept for each week, and a list of appropriate board books to read.   Today I sent her my plans and told her to try them out so that we can improve them for the next month!

In the meantime, I haven’t been writing any blogs about France.  That may not be so bad, but I think it is important that I finish this project.  I get so many ideas that I want to pursue and what my health doesn’t hinder,  my ability to get distracted by wanting to start another project does. Recently, I read that it is important to finish what you start.  Apparently, incompleteness represent instability to our brain!  Therefore, my project to read books mostly about France until we leave should be honoured even if it isn’t that important in the grand scheme of things. As Mahatma Gandhi said, “Whatever you do will be insignificant, but it is very important that you do it.”

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 11, 2012 in France, Paris, Travel

 

Tags:

One response to “IT’S IMPORTANT EVEN IF IT’S INSIGNIFICANT

  1. Natalie

    June 18, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    When you find a place, I’d love to hear about it! We’re planning a trip for Winter ’13 and wanting to stay in an apartment, rather than a hotel. I think it makes it more of an experience!

     

Leave a Reply

 
